Buhari Names New INEC Boss, Appoints 5 Commissioners

Spread the love

President Muhammadu Buhari on has announced the appointment of Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), even as he also named five new national commissioners for the electoral umpire.

Their appointments were consequently approved on Wednesday at the first Council of State meeting to be presided over by President Buhari.

This development was disclosed to State House correspondents by Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State after the meeting.

The new national commissioners include: Mrs. Amina Zakari (North-West); Dr. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine, North Central, Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East); Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West).

MANY READ ALSO  Dasuki Tackles FG on Purported Offer to Attend Dad’s Burial

The new INEC chairman replaces the acting chairman of the commission, Mrs. Amina Zakari.


>>TheStreetReporters.com is your BREAKING NEWS platform. Do you have Breaking news for us?
Call: 08175047979
Or Email Us: newsroom@thestreetreporters.com
Follow Us on Twitter @streetreporters
Join Our Fans on Facebook: facebook.com/thestreetreporters
Visit Our Website: www.TheStreetReporters.com
Post/ Read Breaking News on Our Forum: www.thestreetreporters.com/forum

Write a Comment Here

%d bloggers like this: