Governorship Election: Ajimobi, Dankwambo, Masari, Ugwuanyi Victorious

Spread the love

Voters-casting-their-voteWinners are emerging from Saturday’s governorship election accross the country.

The incumbent and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Senator Abiola Ajimobi, has been re-elected in Oyo State as governor.

Ajimobi, in what amounted to breaking the jinx of the incumbent not getting re-elected in the state, defeated his opponents by scoring 315,022 votes.

His closest rival and a former Governor of the state was Alhaji Rashidi Ladoja of the Accord Party, who scored 243,321 votes.

Another former Governor of the state and candidate of the Labour Party, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala, was a distant third.

Alao-Akala polled 167,570.

A former Senate Leader and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Teslim Folarin, came in fourth, polling 70,820 votes.

Dankwambo Wins in Gombe

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), declared the Gombe State Governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

Dankwambo scored 285,369 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Inuwa Yahya of the All Progressives Congress, APC, who scored 205,132 votes across the 11 local government areas of the state. The APC won the presidential elections in the state on March 28.

The Gombe State returning officer, Saminu Ibrahim, a Professor and Vice Chancellor of the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, also announced governorship results for the other eleven parties that contested the elections as follows: Accord Party, 49, ACPN 166, Ad 289, ADC 848, APGA 610, Labour Party 115, NNPP 126, PDC 523, SDP 245 and UDP 100.

MANY READ ALSO  BVN: Persons With Disabilities Protest Discrimination

Haruna Gombe, announced that Mr. Dankwambo of PDP got 30,984 votes while APC’s Inuwa Yahya got 18,409 votes.

By the final announcement, the PDP candidate won in 10 of the11 local government areas in Gombe losing in only Gombe Local Government Area.

The REC in Gombe said the election in the state was held peacefully throughout the state.


Emmanuel winner of Akwa Ibom

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Udom Emmanuel, won the governorship election in Akwa Ibom, the Independent National Electoral Commissioner announced Sunday.

The announcement came amid calls for the cancellation of the polls over widespread violence and irregularities, NAN reports.

At least three people were killed Saturday during the elections, the police confirmed on Sunday.

Announcing the result of the election on Sunday in Uyo, the Returning Officer for the election, James Epoke, said Mr. Emmanuel scored 996, 071 votes to defeat his All Progressives Congress (APC) opponent, Umana Umana, who polled 89, 865 votes.

According to the Returning Officer, Helen Esuene of Labour Party scored 8,600 votes and while Samuel Akpan of Accord Party polled 10, 598 votes.

Epoke said that Mr. Emmanuel won in all the 31 local government areas in the state.

He said the total number of registered voters in the state was 1,548,531 while 1,158,624 voters were accredited for the election, adding that total valid votes cast in the election was 1,110,580.


Void votes, he said, were 12, 256 and total votes cast 1, 122, 836.

“By the provision of the Electoral Act, Emmanuel, having scored the highest number of votes cast in the election, is hereby declared elected,” he announced.

The APC candidate, Umana Umana, had earlier called for the election to be cancelled on similar grounds. Mr. Umana, as well as other political leaders in the state, including former governor, Victor Attah, said elections did not take place at many centres.

Masari Wins in Katsina

A former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Masari, won the governorship election in Katsina State on the platform of All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Returning Officer, Lawal Bilbis, said on Sunday that Mr. Masari polled 943,085 votes to defeat the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate, Musa Nashuni, who scored 476,768 votes in the Saturday election.

Bilbis said that PDM candidate, Yakubu Lado, got 50,361 votes, while Umar Abdullahi of APGA secured 42,302 votes.

According to the retuning officer, seven political parties took part in the election.

“Having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, Aminu Bello Masari of APC is declared the winner and returned elected,’’ Mr. Bilbis, a professor, announced.

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi winner of Enugu

Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of the PDP emerged the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Enugu State.

Announcing the result in Enugu on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Hilary Edoga, said that Ugwuanyi polled 482,227 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Okey Ezea of the APC, who got 43,839 votes.

MANY READ ALSO  BREAKING: Buhari Keeps Mum as N9 Trillion Contract Scandal Rocks NNPC

Edoga, who is also the Vice Chancellor of the Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, Abia, said that Kanayo Oguakwa of the Peoples for Democratic Change (PDC), secured 4,814 votes, while Chukwuma Ugwu of APGA polled 33 votes.Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of the Peoples Democratic Party has emerged the winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Enugu State.

“I, Prof. Hilary Odo Edoga, hereby declare that Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared the winner of the April 11 governorship election in Enugu State, and is hereby returned as the winner,’’ Edoga said.

However, the APC governorship candidate, Okey Ezea, said he would use lawful means to challenge Ugwuanyi’s election.

According to him, the election was marred by violence, harassment of party agents and infliction of physical injuries on APC supporters as well as hijack of ballot boxes.

Born March 20, 1964, Mr. Ugwuanyi, who hails from Orba in Udenu Local Government Area of Enugu State, holds bachelor and master’s degrees in Business Administration from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

Until his election, he was the member representing Udenu/Igboeze North Federal Constituency and Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Marine Transport.


Write a Comment Here

%d bloggers like this: